Uncategorized

  • between her and i, well things seem to be taking on a life of itself. we're really good together, or so the general community feedback indicates. strangers have come up to us to say what a great couple the two of us make--and we're not even technically together. not like that means anything substantial in and of itself, but it is, however, encouraging given how challenging this labrynth of a courtship has been, thus far. and yes, the plot thickens...so we've been seeing each other rather regularly for the last couple of weeks. despite the momentary hurdle (e.g. her as yet unresolved relationship)and against most odds, she and i have continued to grow closer. she's finally recognized that her feelings for me aren't going anywhere and only grow stronger as the days progress. having come to this undeniable reality, she decided to tell her boyfriend everything. and he gave her an ulitmatum and told her that she can never see me again. out of loyalty, guilt, what have you, she acquiesced and the two of us met. she told me how it had to be--she doesn't want to hurt him. so maybe this is the best decision for both of us, she said. all i had to say was that she was making the wrong decision. i didn't have the energy or usual resolve to try and dissuade her, so i didn't. i just told her that i thought she was making a huge mistake. our eyes did most of the talking. that was enough, i guess, for her to take a moment to reflect and realize that, indeed, she couldn't do it. i had an exam to take, so we met up again afterwards--she came along with alistair, randall, leslie, ori, elad, and ronald to De Roeter for happy hour. her boyfriend told her to end things with me and to be home at 6. i didn't want to cause her anymore grief so i reminded her that her boyfriend was expecting her home. she didn't want to leave. she wanted to stay with me. 5 rounds later, we all headed to a pizzeria to grub, and at some point in the converstation, she tells me that when the two of them were arguing the night before, he had threatened to track me down and kick my ass. well, you know me, i can't pass up a challenge like that. so in my innebriated hilarity, i wrote down the precise directions to my flat, the exact address, along with my phone number on a beer coaster. obviously as a joke. it was funny. in the "letter", i refer to him as a "sorry biatch" and invite him to drop by any time so we can "handle things American style". and i signed it "yours truly". hey, i thought it was pretty funny at the time. she walked me to the nightbus stop at around 3AM. this morning, i get an SMS from her warning me that he had somehow found that beer coaster in her purse and to not go back to my flat tonite: him and his friends in the Marines are planning to jump me. how utterly evolved of him. well, given the fact that Ganzehoef, the neighborhood i live in, is widely considered to be an unsavory "ghetto", i doubt he's got the nerve to come find me by himself. did i mention this piece of shit is 4 years older than me? sad, so sad. but like i said in previous posts, the only thing i have against the guy is that he's caged her up for far too long, and in my mind, for all the wrong reasons--see, 9 months after he got dumped by his girlfriend of 10 years (since he was 13!!!), he started dating judith. dating is too benign a word for this particular case because he basically didn't have the sack to be his own man so he cowered his way into judith's 19 year old arms. and she took care of him--she nursed his sorry, stunted excuse for self-esteem and basically helped him gain the closest thing to manhood that he'll get. in her own words, "[she] was his medicine." she's like that--compassionate, i mean. but i imagine there comes a time when being someone's loving crutch gets old. but it's like this guy's been self-confined to an emotional wheelchair for more than half of his 28 years. it's obvious to me that he's scared shitless of being left to his own devices. which is more pathetic than anything. that's not what pisses me off about him--it's like he's a blackhole of neediness and dependency and he's hellbent on sucking judith in with him. and what if he gets his way? what then? i don't want that unfortunate inevitability for her. she deserves WAY more than that. and if he's stupid enough to come to Ganzenhoef tonite, or any other nite, i'd gladly tell him what i think of him. my dutch isn't anything to be really proud of at this juncture, so i might just have to let my fists do the talking.


    i talked to her while she was on a train to go back home, down south. she's going away for a week to clear her head and his influence and to suss things out for herself, with help from her family and friends. i hope she, in some way, finds the clarity that she's struggling for.   

  • to her:

    you've all heard it somewhere, from someone, countless times, in one form or another: a healthy relationship allows both people to learn and grow. learn and grow. learn and grow. and what of growing apart? and learning that what once was sincere has become something of an obligation? what then? do you hold onto the past and forego the promise of possiblity? and if you decide to take that leap of faith (read: fate), will he understand? will he let you go? will he let you let him go? and if you don't, could you be content with breaking that promise of possiblity, having already tasted the coming attractions?

    the answers are easy enough. but everyone knows that finding the answers and applying the solution are 2 entirely different dramas. but the hard part's over---you've managed to find me. and all i want to do is encourage you, support you, and challenge you. there are a few other things i'd like to do to/for/with you, obviously. i know there're a few other things you want to do to/for/with me, too (for the sake of all the underage readers of this journal, i'll censor myself here). but first things first, yeah? everything's gonna be alright--but, you know that already.

    play on playa. play on. mmm. mmm. mmm. (apparently, i'm "dangerous". i guess that makes two of us.)

    *edit* i've been asked to compete in the quarterfinals of the national dutch "dance" DJ competition next tuesday. i actually entered my demo something like 3.5 months ago and received a polite reply in the mail, and written in dutch, basically saying that my style of play wasn't the kind of sound they were looking for. so i wrote the whole thing off. but then, last thursday, i get the call. don't really know if it's my thing but wish me luck, anyway.

  • i fought fate, and fate won.

  • i'm over chasing girls that aren't chasing me. the last 2.5 years of being out on my own has been invaluable. i wouldn't give that independence up for just anyone. she'd have to be nothing less than incredible. and i would have to be just as incredible, in her eyes. the moral of this story:

    trust your feelings--the heart never lies. the brain does that.

    thanks for your words, D.

    "B,

    yikes what a mess!

    from her words, it seems like you guys have something really special going on. But its also clear that she is as confused and scrambly eggs about this as you are. I remember you told me she's in a serious, extremely long-term relationship...and you know how those are.

    All in all, its obvious that you mean a lot to this girl and she means a lot a lot a lot to you. But depending on what you want, I think it might be a good time to let this one go. I mean, things are complicated cuz she has a man, but at the same time if she knew that you were right for her then her choice would be clear, right? Maybe she does know and its just going to take her time to take care of things and figure things out with her man but I feel like no matter who you are with or without at a moment, once you find the person that sets your heart free, you'll do whatever it takes to be with them. Remember that things are not as complicated as we make them out to be. Don't let yourself get all messed up because love is so simple when it is love. Let her go, and when she realizes that you're the one she wants to be with, she will let you know.

    I know that you want to give her the benefit of being innocent of the situation, but she is the only one that really knows whats going on; you don't and neither does her boyfriend. So thats completely unfair. It seems like a situation where she didn't purposefully do anything but that it just developed b/t the two of you, but now that it is in the open...she has a decision to make and it seems like she's staying with her man for now but that she wishes things could be different. But wishing things could be different, and making things different for someone are two very different courses of action.

    In the end, I just want to say, you deserve someone who is willing and wanting to make their lives intertwine with yours in the most intimate way. Thanks for sharing with me and i hope this advice is helpful in even the slightest bit.

    love love love,
    Diane
    "

  • a song request(ion).


    --------------------------------------
    "Next Lifetime"--Erykah Badu


    Now what am I supposed to do
    When I want you in my world
    How can I want you for myself
    When I'm already someone's girl?

    First time that I saw you boy
    It was a warm and sunny day
    All I know is I wanted you
    I really hoped you looked my way
    When you smiled at me
    So warm and sweet
    I could not stay
    You make me feel like a lilting girl
    What do you do to me?


    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    No hard feelings
    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    I'm gonna be there

    You're energy
    Feels so damn good to me
    It picks me up don't wanna come down
    You got me spinning all around
    Yeah
    You need to know
    I've got that somebody
    You're beautiful
    But it ain't that type of party

    Well I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    Baby we'll be butterflies
    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    That sounds so divine
    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    I guess I will now
    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    Wait
    Wait a little while

    See it ain't nothing wrong with dreaming
    Boy don't get me wrong
    Cause every time (every time) I see you (every single time)
    I know just how strong (every single time)
    That my love is for my baby
    But emotions just don't lie
    Well I know I'm a lot of woman
    But not enough to divide the pie


    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    You know I want to stay around
    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    I'm so confused now


    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    Already
    I'm going to be there
    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    I'm going to look for you


    I guess I'll see you next lifetime
    Oh
    Oh baby
    I'm gonna be there
    I'm gonna be there

  • there i was, sitting in their living room, waiting for Ronald to pick me & my gear up--watching my delusion as it took its last breath. i had it all wrong. completely wrong. and i saw that tonite, sitting on the sofa, helpless to see a relationship that had no intention of waning. seeing them together last nite and then again tonite, it dawned on me--the only arguments they've had recently probably all have to do with my unwelcomed intrusion into their otherwise picturesque life together. it was all in my head--everything. it must have been. it's not her fault that i misinterpreted things. she's just that alluring. good for her. not so good for me. cuz see, i'm now in the most unenviable of roles, playing understudy to the fool. in a haze of vodka and apple juice, i've come to the conclusion that i probably just found myself falling for someone that any guy would easily fall for. you know the type of women i'm talking about--the ones that we're always searching for, but never have the good sense to hold onto. she's like that, but better. and she's got me wishing i was better, too. but i can't do this anymore. i can't go on losing sight of all perspective because of what this girl makes me feel. so, i can't see her anymore. if you knew my situation, you'd agree that as juvenile and rash as that course of action might sound, it's the only available option for me to keep what's left of my dignity. i've fallen too deep into her and everytime i see her, i fall deeper. before i drown, i need to let go.
    and now, all i can think about is how i wish i could speak Dutch well enough to tell her all the things i want her to know; even if it served no other purpose than to have her understand how amazing she is. but she doesn't need me to tell her that--i'm sure he tells her everyday.

    THE END

  • it was nice while it lasted--the idea of it all, anyway.
    so, i guess she was just using me and the whole situation to make her man jealous, at most.
    last nite, i went over to their new flat for a house warming party. the only thing i could afford for a house warming gift was me, on the 1's and 2's. so, i took all my gear over there to play this party at around 11, and then this someone asks me to turn down the volume at midnite so they can sing happy birthday to someone at the party. turns out it was HIS birthday. when i saw it, my stomach freefalled to the floor. i felt like the biggest idiot, standing there motionless as i took a moment to subdue the shock of seeing her run over to him for a center-stage kiss. I AM A FOOL. i've noticed that i play best when i'm angry. to give you a glimpse of just how angry i was: i didn't get off the decks for 5 hours and gave arguably one of the best sets in recent memory. how could i have been so wrong about a person? how could i have been so naive? even if she hadn't lied about what the party was actually for, i don't think it's good for me to see her anymore. turns out, her boyfriend's a real stand-up guy, which makes the decision to conclude this episode a little bit easier.

    it was nice while it lasted--the denial of it all, anyway.

Recent Posts

Categories